Feature Blog Friday – Tracy Chong @ Peek Holidays

By now, if you’re following me on Instagram and Snapchat (@SuzannahSylvian) you’ll be seeing what I’m getting up to in Florida! I’m working on some really interesting posts, from restaurant reviews to shopping hauls to day trips. But for now, get to know Tracy Chong at Peek Holidays!

Name: Tracy Chong
URL: http://www.peekholidays.com

FacebookTwitter; Instagram

Take a look at some recommended posts:

Labuan Cermin: Two Layers Lake in IndonesiaHua Takhe: One Quiet Corner in Bangkok and One Cup of Cappuccino & A Glimpse of Light on Mount Agung

peekholidays-tracy in Lembang

Tell us a little bit about yourself…

I was born in Medan, a small busy city in North Sumatra, Indonesia. I lived in Singapore for about 11 years before I finally moved back to Indonesia earlier of this year. I am currently residing in Jakarta, the capital of Indonesia.

I would say that I started to travel since year 2008. That was when I took a long haul flight and touched snow for the very first time. It’s pretty big deal for us Indonesian to touch snow because we don’t have it here. 🙂

My career as a Graphic Designer started as early as when I was still in my final year of my study in university until last year, 2015, I decided to do something else. I am currently doing full-time travel planning services and also blogging to support my living. Besides travelling, I love listening to music, spending quality time with my close friends and definitely my family as well. Orh, I love to watch movies, too!

What inspired you to travel?

Probably it is who inspired me. My belated Mom is my inspiration. My Mom loves to travel. I still remember how excited my Mom was when she’s telling me about her trip to Japan. I will always remember that (miss you, Mom!) At that point of time, I was still a little kid and didn’t know where Japan is. I never thought that I would also be there one day. I want to see what my Mom had seen. I will go to the places where my Mom had been before.

peekholidays-tracy in Komodo Island

What’s on your bucket list? 

Indonesia! I wish to travel all around my home country one day. I will be going to Papua this coming August with my friends. Seriously, I never thought that I will go this far but yes, I am going there during their Baliem Valley Festival event and we will also be visiting few villages in Wamena.

Other than Indonesia, I have Iceland, Greenland, Switzerland and also New Zealand on my bucket list. I have been to New Zealand once but I only visited the north island. I hope to be back there one day for the south island.

 Favourite country so far and why?

Indonesia, for the love of the mountains and the sea.

USA, because almost every state offers different things to do.

Taiwan, for its beautiful scenery and good street food.

New Zealand, for the scenic landscape.

Best experience and why?

Solo travelling to South Korea. It was my first solo travelling ever and I don’t understand the local language. The feeling of getting lost, lonely, taught me the real values of travelling.

Worst experience and why?

So far, thanks God. No bad experiences yet.

What’s on your travel playlist? 

Eric Chiryoku, Jay Chou and some Christian praise and worship songs definitely will be in my travel playlist. For reading, I usually bring at least one hardcopy magazine and my tablet which works as my e-reader to store few books that I am keen to read.


Tell us about some of your favourite dishes/restaurants from places you’ve visited? 

Ketoprak – Local Indonesian street food mixture of rice cake, vermicelli, bean sprout with peanut sauce. It started as a street food but nowadays we can also find it in the restaurant that serves local foods especially in Jakarta.

ketoprak

Mee Sua – Local Taiwanese street food. Usually they will add either shredded chicken meat, oysters or pig intestine on top of it with some chilli sauce. Simple but delightful. Can be easily found in the night market around Taiwan.

meesua

Fish Soup Noodle/Bee Hoon – Singapore style’s of fish soup. Whether have it with sliced or fried fish, with milk mixed in the soup or without, eat it while piping hot with some cut chilli, it tastes just great. This dish can be easily found in any hawker centres in Singapore.

fish-soup-noodle

Are there any things you miss when you’re not at home?

My bedroom. Although the bed in the hotel, guest houses or wherever it is may be more comfortable. But I will still miss my bed and my bedroom.

 

peekholidays-tracy in Anchorage

Did you overcome any fears before beginning your journey?

Yes, in my first few travel journey. But after my first solo travelling, I have become less worrying about things that I might encounter during my trip. Probably now I am more excited than fear before the journey.

Have you got any tips for people who want to travel but are perhaps scared or unsure where to start?

Most of the times, what we are worried or scared about, it didn’t happen. So, as long as you have done your research and planning, just go! Start from places that close to you and go further as your confidence and comfortable level of ‘getting lost’ increases. 🙂

Have a fabulous weekend guys!

Find me at all of these places too:

Instagram / Bloglovin / Pinterest / Tumblr / Twitter

2 thoughts on “Feature Blog Friday – Tracy Chong @ Peek Holidays

Leave a Reply

