Feature Blog Friday – Anny’s Adventure

The more and more I read my feature bloggers and their incredible stories, the more inspired I become. Anny is following her dream and hasn’t stopped for a moment since she caught the travel bug, and she provides her readers with great advice on how to get out there into the world. Start with A beginner’s guide to finding jobs around the worldColombia the next big tourist destination and Once you travel – the world will never be the same.

Name: Anny
Website: http://annysadventuresblog.wordpress.com
Pintrest; TwitterInstagram

Tell us a little bit about yourself…

My name is Anny, I am 24 years old and I was born in Norwich, Norfolk, England. I graduated from the University of Lincoln in 2013, with a degree in Business Management, after I graduated I struggled to find a ‘real job’, or any other kind of job which appealed to me as a full-time job. I am a Nationally ranked UK water skier and an avid water ski coach, it’s a passion I have had ever since I have known,  my family founded a water ski club over 50 years ago. During the summer of my 2nd and 3rd year of University I worked in a summer camp in upstate New York, which I loved. Travelling wasn’t new to me, every year my family would go on at least one family holiday which was the highlight of my year. I loved to visit new places see new things, discover places no one I knew had been too before. I returned to summer camp just after I finished my last year of University, but this time with no job or school to return home too,  I just made the most of it, one last holiday until I got a job and only had 20 holiday days a year. Summer camp was fun I had the best time, meeting new people, experiencing cultures, making friends for life. I returned home with nothing to do, I just sat by my laptop searching and applying to jobs, with no success, then I randomly one day found an email I had been sent the month before asking for water ski instructors in Greece, I replied to the email with no hope of getting the job, but by some miracle the women replied and I had an interview the next day, where she gave me the job on the spot. Four days later I was on a flight to Greece and I never looked back. Since that job in Greece I have worked in France as a nanny in a snow ski resort, a water ski instructor in two different places in Greece and I’m currently in America water skiing for 6 months. Its been a world wind experience, that I wouldn’t change for the world, I have met new people, some great friends, created members that will last a lifetime and most importantly never looked back. I started a travel blog in November 2015, when I returned home for two weeks and a large number of my friends asked me questions about working abroad and how they thought it was super expensive and hard to do. I realised there must be others thinking the same, so I decided to start a travel blog to inform people travelling is feasible, you can work abroad easily and it’s totally not as scary as you think, reach outside your confront zone and have fun.

IMG_1276

What inspired you to travel?

The first flight I took was to Orlando when I was around 12 years old, I was throughly inspired even at 12 years old, how everything could be so different from home, people lived in different places, a world existed outside my own small bubble of a world. Since then I have taken many trips, including to; Australia three times, 26 American states, Thailand, Singapore, 3 Caribbean islands, Mexico twice, Colombia and a very large number of European countries. Every year I looked forward to go on holiday, I enjoyed the planning process and researching the amazing activities we could do. It wasn’t until I went to America I realised that I was able to work abroad, I could travel and visit places whilst someone paid me to do so.

What’s on your bucket list? 

Since visiting Colombia I have been inspired to visit more South American countries, Peru and Argentina are defiantly on my bucket list for future travels, I have also always wanted to road trip around Europe stopping in which ever countries I feel like visiting, maybe taking 5 months to do so. My future travel plan which is defiantly something which has been on my bucket list for a while is to teach English in a foreign country, I am returning to Colombia to do this in August.

Favourite country so far and why?

My favourite county without a doubt is Colombia, it is an incredible country unlike any I have visited before, the people are happy, content with their lives, yes there’s a rich poor divide, but the poor live and work on farms, growing their own crops being totally self sustainable. Bogota is a happy lively city with plenty to see and do, Barichara is around 6 hours from Bogota and they call it Colombia’s adventure capital you can go white water rafting, climbing, caving and take part in many other activities. Cartagena and the Caribbean coast are a must visit, white sand beaches and a colonial town with vibrant colour buildings and a year round warm climate.

IMG_1871

Best experience and why?

Colombia, yes I had heard all the rumours, drug stories, gang violence etc but I didn’t care, I wanted to take the trip to see for myself. Colombia is home to the friendliest people I have ever met, the best food I have ever had and the nicest beaches I have ever seen. A country with a low tourist rate and bad reputation because of one person and his actions, yes Pablo Escabar existed and did everything he did, but things change. You don’t worry about visiting America cause someone got shot in New York, it’s the same with Colombia, Colombia has two dangerous cities on the Pacific coast Bueneventua and Cali, which are still no go areas for Colombians, but these two cities are over eleven hours away from the capital Bogota and 18 hours away from Cartagena on the pacific coast. That’s the same as their being a major shooting in a city in Italy and people getting worried about going to England because of it.

What’s on your travel playlist? 

I enjoy reading stories about travelling and travellers but currently if I was on a long journey I would be practicing Spanish on my learn Spanish applications, I think learning a second language is a great thing to do as it opens up so many more job opportunities. As for music I really enjoy listening to Pandora especially the Red Hot Chili Peppers radio.

IMG_1672

Tell us about some of your favourite dishes/restaurants from places you’ve visited? 

Greece has some amazing food Mediterranean vegetables, a large variety of cheeses, gyros and tazaiki. Colombian and Mexican food was delicious due to the year round similar climate, fresh fruits, vegetables and the fruit juices were my favourite. Mexico and Colombia restaurants are mainly individuals not so much chain brands, but one of the chain restaurants in Colombia which is amazing is Crapes and Waffles.

Are there any things you miss when you’re not at home?

I miss English chocolate, Dairy Milk, Galaxy and Digestive biscuits. But no seriously I miss my family and friends, travelling has given me friends all over the world, so I try to visit as many of my friends overseas as possible, which is fun. Yorkshire puddings though, I seriously miss those.

Did you overcome any fears before beginning your journey?

Every time I leave a comfortable place and start a new adventure, its scary, but exciting. I am afraid of the unknown and get scared things will go wrong, but you have to just trust yourself, there are a lot of variables in travelling but also lots of things you can control, if you act stupid bad things may happen. I just tell myself to trust that whats meant to happen will happen and enjoy the ride, take the good with the bad and at the end of the day your only a flight away from home.

IMG_2098

Have you got any tips for people who want to travel but are perhaps scared or unsure where to start?

If you want to travel and work research companies, that pay for your flights, meals and accommodation, so you cut your expenses dramatically. If you have any desire to travel at all do it, travelling is an amazing experience, I have learnt 10 times more from travelling than I did my whole 15 years in education.

Don’t forget to follow Anny on Twitter, and if you’d like to have our travel journey featured here on my blog, get in touch.

Find me at all of these places too:

Instagram / Bloglovin / Pinterest / Tumblr / Twitter

 

2 thoughts on “Feature Blog Friday – Anny’s Adventure

Leave a Reply

