Honey & Soy Tofu with Coconut, Lemongrass & Chilli Rice

IMG_20160208_170440.jpg

This recipe came about on one of those days where everything in the fridge needed to be used up, and as I have the majority of essential store cupboard ingredients for Asian cooking, I can turn any left over food into something edible if I set my mind to it. I’d been looking forward to cooking with tofu again, but kept forgetting to prepare it beforehand, so when I actually remembered, I wanted to make something extra tasty. I was so surprised at how beautifully well soy sauce and honey compliment each other, it reminded me very much of the sweet and salted popcorn combo.

For this recipe, quorn chicken pieces can be used if you don’t have tofu around, and again, substitute the honey for the recipe to be vegan.

Serves 2
Ingredients:

2 cloves of garlic
1 chilli
Thumb sized chunk of ginger
Sprouts (or any left over vegetables)
5 tablespoons soy sauce
3 tablespoons honey
Teaspoon of toasted sesame oil
Sprinkle of sesame seeds
Coconut oil (for frying)

1 pack of Tilda coconut, lemongrass and chilli rice (I will make my own one day soon!)
1 block of tofu, drained and pressed for extra firmness, chopped into cubed chunks.

Directions:

1. Add a good amount of coconut oil to a wok or large pan, swirl until it has melted down, and then proceed to add the cubed tofu, with garlic, chilli and ginger, and stir together carefully.
2. While that is cooking (and you need to keep an eye on it) mix together the soy sauce, honey and toasted sesame oil, and leave to one side.
3. Add the sprouts (or left over veg) to the wok and continue to carefully mix and toss everything together.
4. Add the soy and honey dressing, mix together until tofu is golden and almost crispy on the outside.
6. Microwave the rice and serve.

Find me at all of these places too!
Instagram / Bloglovin / Pinterest / Tumblr / Twitter

Leave a Reply

